self control

September 1, 2010 at 10:23 am 2 comments

I heard a podcast once from Stuff Mom Never Told You that said that whatever hormone regulates our powers of self-control becomes all out of whack for women 10 days before their period so they tend to make more impulse buys around that time. When I heard that, I looked at a calendar and my credit card bill and had gone on a little spree on that exact day. It’s dangerous to give me such medically viable excuses.

It’s pay-day, which means irrational dreaming of blowing the month’s cashola on pretties – but the looming purchases of plane tickets to Paris and a computer that doesn’t creak is keeping me in check. Instead, I dream and prioritize frivolous spending allowances. Next up:

  • A much needed Costco trip (on which I hope to find good deals on a laptop. Mine is close to a decade old.)
  • The release of Alexa Chung for Madewell next week. I know some self control is going to go out the window for that one.

  • A trip to the tailor to alter my bridemaid’s dress from Matt and Vanessa’s wedding. I’d like to shorten it and make it a cocktail dress.

  • My yearlyAnthropologie shopping trip (I allow myself one Anthropologie dress or equivalent item a year, when the budget allows).
  • sewing supplies to make another A-line skirt before I forget how. I took a sewing class recently and came away with a creation that’s not too shabby, if I may say so myself. I still need to upload pictures from that.
  • Concert tix, because I never can get enough. Right now I’m super revved to see Arcade Fire at the Greek Theater in Berkeley and The National, She & Him, Broken Social Scene, and Ra Ra Riot at the Treasure Island Music Festival but I think I also want to get tickets to see Vampire Weekend when they play the Greek.

Deep breaths, Rochelle, put the wallet away and make good decisions.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

yes sir assorted goods

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather Gautier  |  September 1, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Im going to see Arcade Fire too! =)

    Reply
  • 2. tambourinegirl  |  September 1, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Yayyyyy! On 10/2? We should meet up!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Flickr Photos

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

More Photos

