cuddled with coffee and a good book

July 28, 2010 at 1:33 pm Leave a comment

If I didn’t work an 8 to 5 office job, I would be starting each ideal day by brewing a cup of coffee and cuddling up with it in a bay window with a good book. It’s only appropriate then that today’s Reader Wednesday post is this one from The Kitchn blog with links to tips and tricks about brewing the perfect cup. I’m too lazy to read through them and actually perfect my technique, but it makes me happy to know they’re out there. One day my monkey butler will be brewing all my coffee for me anyway, so no point learning now… 

I’m currently reading Michael Cunningham’s Specimen Days and enjoying it pretty wholeheartedly. Much like Cunningham did with Mrs. Dalloway in The Hours, he draws on Walt Whitman’s Leaves of Grass (I think) to set the tone for his protagonist. The main guy is obsessed with Whitman and can relate to him much better than to society, so when he tries to communicate with people he tends to spout out lines of Whitman poetry before realizing it and then does a little “Oops, I’m so awkward” mental berating of himself. It’s pretty endearing. I relate far too well. At least I don’t read Whitman so I’m not aflflicted with that particular social gash. Yet.

Yay books!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Bardot a Go Go List: Berkeley/Oakland Restaurants

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

July 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031