Outside Lands and Reader Wednesday

June 2, 2010 at 9:45 am Leave a comment

Is anyone else planning on going to Outside Lands this year? I think I’m going to get a one day ticket for 8/14 because The Strokes are playing (freakout) but they are pretty much the only band playing I really care about. The ticket prices are steep but cheaper than last year, and I think you go for the food/wine/art culture surrounding it as much as the music. A day of boozey picnicking outside and dancing to live good bands? I’m a little concerned about the port-a-potty situation, but I think the experience is worth a try.

My favorite thing in my Google Reader today is this post from F* Yeah Alexa Chung. It looks like out of a 60s film.

In reading of actual books, I’m almost done with Giant by Edna Ferber. I saw the movie version a while back because my heart goes pitter-pat for James Dean and remember not liking it very much, but don’t remember much else. I seem to remember the plot being entirely different from what I’m reading right now in the book so it might deserve a rewatch once I’m done. The book itself is actually wonderful. Ferber’s prose is entirely humorous and readable and gives a sprawling account of Texas that I, in my completely ignorant coastal view, find hilariously accurate even for being written 60 years ago. It sounds like even then it had a reputation for big big fried food and dust and bravado.

What’s on everybody else’s summer reading list?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

you put da lime in da coconut June 1, 2010

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Flickr Photos

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

More Photos

