it’s a party on my eyelids

May 4, 2010 at 9:52 am 3 comments

I was visiting one of my good friends from college over the weekend and we got on the subject of how long our makeup lasts. I was boasting that I still use products that I’ve had since college and was bowled over to learn that my makeup is therefore a hotbed for bacteria. Apparently we’re supposed to be throwing it out every 6 – 12 months. Does everybody in the world do this, and I just missed that memo? My makeup never runs out that quickly, so am I supposed to be throwing out good stuff for the sake of hygiene? And given the expense of most makeup products, does that mean that I should be limiting my colors to just a few pallettes per year?

How often do you guys replace your makeup, and how many different colors do you use?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

misery loves company May 1, 2010

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannel  |  May 4, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I make it a point to replace my mascara every three months, and I run out of eye liner quick enough… but I never thought about eye shadows… I think I have some that are three years old!! Should I be tossing those???? Sad face!!

    Reply
    • 2. tambourinegirl  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:01 am

      According to my friend yes, we’re supposed to be replacing our eyeshadows. That just feels wasteful! And I feel like I’ll end up getting sick of my eyeshadows if I’m limiting it to just a few colors to replace each year. Quandry…

      Reply
  • 3. lists, looks « my life to live  |  June 9, 2010 at 7:36 am

    […] recently whittled down my eye makeup list and refined the system after Jessie completely freaked me out about makeup hygene. I’ve decided I’m going to keep seven eye […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos


