b-day-ful

March 22, 2010 at 2:40 pm 1 comment

All hail aging as an excuse to celebrate your own personal holiday! My birthday was this past Friday and my brother’s was on Saturday, so it was another weekend chock full of celebrations. On Friday,I had the day off from work and had a me day. I went to Crossroad’s Trading Company and traded two old blouses for a clear plastic bangle and a houndstooth dress. I also browsed the used book store and came away with a book about Gertrude Stein.

I splurged and treated myself to a dress from Rent the Runway for the evening (think Netflix for designer dresses: they mail you a dress of your choice for a fraction of the price and you have three days to return it in a prepaid package.) I chose a Halston Heritage dress and felt very luxe.

wearing the new clear plastic bangle with the Halston Heritage dress and Santana shoes

N.Y.C. nail polish in 124A, cameo ring from Crossroads

Erik took me out to dinner in Rockridge at A Côté, one of our favorite restaurants, and we ate wild nettle tarte, grouper, pommes frites, and this amazing cabbage bacon potato thing. He also bought me these espresso cups that I’d been eyeing and an on-stove espresso maker, as well as espresso and roses. He’s a keeper.

my spoils

Saturday was Matt’s birthday and he celebrated by going to a shooting range with the guys in the morning and having a BBQ that night. Erik had a test in the morning so we luckily got out of the shooting portion. Vanessa ran with the gun theme and made it an army-themed party. She did an amazing job organizing, cooking, and decorating.

birthday boy

Matt brought out the Gallo brandy

and everybody appreciated it appropriately

Don’t tell, but their cats are getting bigger and lazier.

Diego

Calvin

By Sunday the bday celebrations were over but the gatherings continued. Katie, Carey, Scott, Erik and I all trekked out to Mount Diablo and hiked the falls trails. It’s a perfect time of year for it – everything was all vibrant green and blues, and the weather was warm without being hot.

There was lots pretty to look at…

… and I even began to embrace the outdoors!

And now I’m ready to go back into my cave.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Reader Wednesday reader Wednesday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Shannel  |  March 22, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Rent the Runway?? How amazing!! Also, did you hike in a gnome shirt?? Awesome!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Flickr Photos

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

More Photos

