love/hate

March 10, 2010 at 9:54 am 1 comment

Frankly, I think everyone should just wear whatever gives them the giddies and it doesn’t merit any criticism from anyone else – but then all those best/worst dressed lists come out and rankle me because I never ever ever agree with them. I don’t know if that means that I have horrible taste or that I’m just more artistically enlightened than they are (which is what I tell myself when I go to sleep at night, along with ‘my mom knows I’m cool’), but it gets me to join the discussion. I’ll list the looks from this year’s Oscars that the Fashion Police hated and I loved, and the looks that I hated and they loved, and you can tell me if I’m crazy (click pictures for links to their sources):

Looks that they hate/I love:

Diane Kruger (Chanel)

This dress ended up on the worst dressed list and it is my favorite of the evening. I want to get married in it, live in it, sleep in it, and whisper sweet nothings to it at night. I love how the ribbons and the nape of the neck drape down the back. Sigh.

Carey Mulligan (Prada)

Apparently all that bejeweled blitz on there are little forks and scissors and knick-knacks, which is totally random and out there and I eat it up (all the easier with the miniature cutlery provided). The sweetheart neckline highlights her cutiepie face and the raised hem keeps it youthful and just darlingface. 

Zoe Saldana (Givenchy)

I get that the gown is weird and floofy and seemingly mismatched, but she’s there for playing a freakin’ naked, tailed, blue creature for christsakes. It’s only appropriate that she’d wear something slightly alien and the colors on her make her skin positively glow. I thought she looked gorgeous.

Miley Cyrus (Jenny Packham)

She just looks like a pretty pretty princess, that’s all there is too it.

Looks that they love/I hate (there are only two of these because I’m not a hater):

Jennifer Lopez (Armani Privé)

They just raved over this dress and I don’t get how they didn’t see that she was swathed in a giant bubble-wrap comforter.

 

Vera Farmiga (Marchesa)

I’m just not a huge ruffle fan. It’s like a flamenco jellyfish. But if that’s what you like, wear it up.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Bedtime Story Reader Wednesday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Shannel  |  March 10, 2010 at 9:59 am

    I ❤ that Chanel dress too!! And you are spot on about JLo and the fedex bubble wrapped dress. ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Flickr Photos


