Parenthood at home

March 3, 2010 at 9:03 am 2 comments

I know this title could be misleading, so let me tell you now – I know nothing about actual parenthood in actual homes with actual children. What I do know is that I watched the pilot of Parenthood last night and apparently it takes place in Berkeley, my home, and it promises to be stellar. I spent the whole episode trying to figure out what parts were “fake Berkeley” and a set somewhere and what parts were “real Berkeley” (Oscar’s Hamburgers a few blocks from my apt., verbal references to things like Shattuck and Emeryville). I looked it up in IMDB and they listed Berkeley as the filming location, so the remaining questions are: am I going to randomly run into Lauren Graham someday in my goings and comings? And if so, is she going to mind when I tackle her, call her Lorelei, and make her go shopping with me? (I kid… but only because I’ve been properly socialized – thanks Mom and Dad – and this is what I know about parenting). I know that film sets and t.v. shows aren’t all that out of the norm for some of yous, but this is Berkeley and I thought we only had dirty hippies and hipsters here so this new development is a wee bit happy-making.

I hadn’t dared to hope for a replacement after Gilmore Girls went off the air and I’m still not – but Lauren Graham does play a similarly quirky and husband-less parent role in Parenthood, so I’m pleasantly getting my fix again. Plus, the dude from Six Feet Under is in it and gets to play a role with a lot of humor, which is refreshing and entertaining.

Hooray for tv! Watch Parenthood and look for me, the creepy girl with the binoculars and the ‘I Don’t Hug Trees’ t-shirt, in the background.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Days 9-12 of giving March 1, 2010

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannel  |  March 3, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I loved watching Lorelai last night and the 6ft Under guy in a less depressing role! Did you hear the insulting remark “Lorelai’s” mom made about Emeryville?

    Reply
  • 2. tambourinegirl  |  March 3, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I did, it was slander! What was also shocking was that she was using a newspaper to find apartments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Flickr Photos


