The American Porphyria Foundation

February 22, 2010 at 10:27 am 1 comment

For my sixth day of giving, I made a donation to the American Porphyria Foundation. I never would have known about this disease if my friend Jessica hadn’t told me about it, which is precisely the reason people should donate to the foundation. Lesser known diseases like porphyria rarely get the attention and resources they need to raise awareness and find cures, so please consider this one when you’re feeling particularly charitable!

Jessica is a friend of mine from high school who suffers from porphyria and is doing a lot herself to raise awareness and funds for it. She’s a sweetie and agreed to write a little about it for my blog:

Porphyria is a rare blood disorder.  So rare in fact, that only less than 250,000 people in the U.S. are affected.  There are 9 different types, from skin kinds to acute kinds.  I have one of the acute kinds.  I live with a myriad of daily symptoms, such as pain, nausea, and sometimes neuropathy (numbness) in my extremities.  Even though I live with these daily struggles, I have started a new division of a gift basket business, that donates a portion of each sale to the American Porphyria Foundation.
 
Funding for Porphyria is scarce, so I want to personally thank Rochelle for donating to the American Porphyria Foundation.  Her donation will help change the lives of people with Porphyria.  People like me. 
 
If you want to make someone’s day today, AND donate to the American Porphyria Foundation, please visit my website: www.makesomeonesdaytoday.com

Jessica

Thanks Jessica! You’re awesome!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Days 2-5 of giving manipulating universal forces in my favor

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. katie  |  February 22, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Good for you, Rochelle! I watched my first episode of Grey’s Anatomy last night because Jessica said it featured Porphyria.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Flickr Photos

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

upload

More Photos

