cheers to holiday cheer!

December 25, 2009 at 9:12 pm 2 comments

I imagined that there would be all this free time to read and tinker around the apartment aimlessly, but I think all my time is being sucked into the Christmas void. I’m not complaining though. It’s been a jolly couple of days.

Day before yesterday, my mom, Carey, and I went to go see San Jose Ballet’s Nutcracker. It was a great way to get into the holiday spirit. Afterward, I settled into my old childhood bedroom and stumbled across all my old journals from ’92 through college. I stayed up into the night reading them and it put me in a really weird head-space. Strange dreams occurred.

Yesterday, I slept in and then ran some errands with my brother. He finally got the keys to the new house he bought with Vanessa (hooray!)

and I got to run over there with him and finally see the inside. I had to take a picture of the very first purchase he made for the new house:

way thrilling

I also got to witness Matt in action as he created Vanessa’s melt-inducing Christmas gift.

curling ribbons like his mama taught 'im

The whole crew of us (Mom, Dad, Matt, Vanessa, Granpda, and I) all went to mass at St. Joan’s, which made my mother’s day. Then we came home and opened loot!

mom got "ear bags"

my haul

We then trotted off, feeling pretty spoiled, to the annual Christmas Eve dinner at the Takayama’s. That is always a hoot and a half. We see all the families that I grew up around as a kid (the Zellharts, Takayama’s, and Murtaughs) as well as some other family friends (the Toths and the Wattses). They split the massive group into two rooms, and it’s the most entertaining kiddie table you will ever encounter. It doesn’t hurt that Mr. T. is a wine aficionado who shares his collection with an eagle eye for an empty glass

We left the party at around 11:30 and I met up with Adam with visions of Denny’s cheese fries floating in our heads, but failed to consider that Christmas Eve might be the one day Danville Denny’s closes. Adam and I drove around for a while at a loss to find a burger joint and it felt reminiscent of my old Cruising Group days from High School when we’d just get in cars and go with no direction. We ended up at Elliott’s in Danville right before last call for one quick drink and a chat (I had cranberry juice – jolly).

Today, Christmas Day!, was nice. I was apprehensive of it because it’s the first year that we’re sharing Matt with another family so he wasn’t with us. It was really pleasant, though. My parents still hung stockings for Boompa and I, and we opened them with gusto and then had an early dinner at home with the four of us and my Uncle Frank. All in all, a pretty nice holiday.

Oh Boompa, I love you

Now I’m back home and have unpacked and am ready for some me-time. I’m going to pour a glass a wine, kick back, and watch Les Carabiniers, and tomorrow I’m committed to BED DAY. At least for part of it.

Merry and Happy to everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ready, steady, relax! oh dear, little Rochelle…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  December 26, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Your Christmas looks so happy!! It makes me wish I were part of your clan! Can’t wait to see you next week 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Shannel  |  December 29, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Sounds like a great Christmas! I love those flower stacked measuring cup bowls! I got the same ones for my mom-in-law for mother’s day this year. 🙂 Happy New Year!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Flickr Photos


