newest discovery – warm milk

September 21, 2009 at 12:01 pm 1 comment

I’m an incessant insomniac and always have trouble falling asleep.  As soon as the book’s closed or the t.v.’s off, my brain switches on to full power worry mode unless I’m super tired to begin with.  Enter – milk!  I heated a cup of warm milk in the microwave and sipped it right before bedtime, and lo and behold, sleepiness! 

It must have been fate, because the very next day I stumbled upon this article that mentions that there’s tryptophan in there that triggers the “go to sleep” impulse.  The article also has some other helpful nighttime remedies.

Another thing that I’ve found that helps is melatonin, the herbal supplement that people take before long flights to reset their sleeping system and avoid jet lag.  It had been my go-to when I just couldn’t find sleepyland but I didn’t like the feeling of being a pill popper, even if it’s only vitamins. 

I’m thinking of getting a little bottle of vanilla syrup to fancy it up a little bit. 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

social networking has eaten my soul – tastes like chicken hot diggity

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Shannel  |  September 24, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    I used to drink a cup of nestle quik chocolate milk every night before bed when I was a kid. Senior year of high school I wrote an essay on the importance of chocolate milk before bed (it was not scientific in nature though)… anywho I’d have to say I totally support your discovery!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Flickr Photos


