One day, Guadalupe

August 24, 2009 at 11:04 am 1 comment

My “Randomized California Cities” category has come up on my Worthwhile Things to Do list.  This is where I randomize all the cities in CA and plan a trip to whatever comes up first.  I’ve never actually followed through with this, but there’s a first time for everything.

So – I stuck the cities into the Random Number Generator, and at some point (hopefully this year or next) I’m making my way to Guadalupe, CA!

I’d been talking a big talk about travel this year and had to scale back my actual plans due to some new circumstances at work.  I’m postponing my plans to go to Europe or anything fancy like that, but something in-state should be a relatively easy compromise.  I’m also still hoping to make it to NY since that’s almost a free and easy trip if I can use frequent flier miles and stay with friends.

But – back to Guadalupe!  The beauty of the “randomized california cities” plan is that I’ll end up seeing places I never would have ended up at otherwise.  Guadalupe has a population of about 5,500 and is located in Central California in Santa Barbara County.  According to the city’s website, it boasts birding and some pretty impressive dunes. 

The best part is that it’s about a half hour south of San Luis Obispo, so all the trip’s adventures aren’t dependent on what Guadalupe has to offer.  I’ve been wanting to go down to that area for a while to see Hearst Castle, because the architect (Julia Morgan) is the same architect who designed my apartment building.  Plus I hear its just plain rad.

I also want to stay at the Madonna Inn.  I’ve only ever stopped in to gawk at the men’s bathroom (hush hush no one was in there at the time) where the urinal is a giant waterfall.  It’s a big pink extravaganza where every room has a different theme and is decorated in all kitschy glory to fit that theme.

This plan is yet another example of how the lists always pull through – the lists tell me to go to Guadalupe, which is perfect for a combined trip to SLO!  So – one day: Guadalupe!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

fashion blogs/street style September 1, 2009

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos


