fashion blogs/street style

August 17, 2009 at 11:36 am 2 comments

I love following those fashion blogs where people post pictures of what they wore each day, things that inspire their fashion, or street style that they see around town.  My favorites are The Sartorialist, What I Wore, and Lisa’s Likes.

It’s inspired me to want to start doing this myself, but it boggles me how these girls are having their pictures taken each day.  Do they just happen to have live-in photographers?  Are they gutsy enough to ask strangers on the street to take pictures of them every day?  I would feel soooo awkward saying “Hey!  Check ME out!  Take my picture please!”  The Sartorialist seems to get around this quandary of vanity by taking pictures of other people’s style that he finds on the street, but I feel a little weird stopping randoms and taking their picture, at least until I can afford a fancier looking camera.  I notice the fancy cameras with the big lenses automatically transform you from “creepy bug-eyed tourist” to “mysterious art-house savant.”

And even then, taking pictures of other people’s style is interesting in a voyeuristic sort of way but not really the form of self-expression that I’d want to be tracking through my own outfits.  I’ve used Closet Couture for this to an extent, which has been fun and fruitful, but maybe I’ll start using this blog more for that sort of thing.

Ponder ponder ponder….

On that note, I think I’m going to start putting my first-of-the-month, every-hour-on-the-hour pics here instead of Facebook.  It’ll be a cornucopia of photographic chronicling.  Yeehaw.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

list time – wedding attire One day, Guadalupe

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. phuong  |  August 17, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Have you seen this flowchart?
    http://www.refinery29.com/street_fashion/get_shot_by_sartorialist.php
    This is my new life goal.

    Also, you inspire me to do these every hour on the hour days.

    Reply
    • 2. tambourinegirl  |  September 22, 2009 at 8:48 am

      I didn’t see this comment until now – wordpress thought you were spam. You don’t look canned and salty to me…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos


