geographically challenged

June 4, 2009 at 9:26 am 1 comment

Tomorrow I’m flying to Wisconsin to join Erik there for his friend’s wedding.  He’s been in Chicago on business for the past week, and then is going to drive up to pick me up in Madison, and we’ll drive to LaCrosse (where the wedding is being held).  It’s kind of pathetic how ignorant I am of all those states in the middle of the country.  I had no idea Chicago was driving distance to Wisconsin. 

I actually had to look at a map of the USA to get an idea of where in the country I’d be.  The middle of the country is all mush to me.   Sad, no?  I have no idea what to expect.  Part of me feels like it’s going to be an entirely different culture that will shun me for my shiny space pants.  Part of me feels pretty pompous for feeling that way.   Truth and time tells all.

After the wedding on Saturday we’re driving to Minnesota (who knew it was so close to those other states!?  not me) to go to a burger joint called Casper and Runyon’s Nook that we saw on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives last year.  I remember at the time the burgers looked so oozily delicious we were considering making a special trip across the country just for them.  They stuff the ground beef with cheese and other ingredients, rather than placing the cheese on top of the meat patty.  Genius!  I can’t believe we’re actually going to make it there.  Maybe we should go for every meal.

I think we’re also planning on going to the Mall of America.  Sounds like a dangerous place for a girl like me.  We shall see!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

where in the world… ridonkulous

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Shannel  |  June 4, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Yaay!! You are living the DDD dream!! Have fun out there… and not to worry, most of it’s mush to me too. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


history

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Flickr Photos


